Photography and the Pandemic

ONLINE

Nov 20, 2020

 — 

Nov 20, 2020

Nov 20, 2020

EVENT DETAILS

Lens through COVID: Pandemic in Pictures

Friday, November 20, 2020

- 12:00 -1:00 pm EST / 6:00 - 7:00 pm CET GALLERY WALK

- 1:00 - 2:00 pm EST / 7:00 - 8:00 pm CET PANEL DISCUSSION (with Q&A)


As Covid-19 continues to reboot societies and cultures and challenge political and economic systems, we want to take a minute, step back and watch - sharpening our vision with Ingmar Nolting’s photographic perspective on the aesthetics of Covid-19 in Germany. In a conversation with NYC based curator and artist Jordan Jones, we will explore Nolting’s singular art from a transatlantic stance, broadening the view of national challenges posed and amplified by the virus.

Ingmar Nolting’s widely acclaimed photographic work features idiosyncratic photo essays that provoke what Carolin Emcke in the Sueddeutsche Zeitung called “a collective reflection on the conditions of the social.” (https://bit.ly/2ExlWAQ) With his camera, the artist documented and crystallized Covid-19 moments in Germany, across the country and social strata, professions, individuals, and spaces. Capturing instances of holding still amidst the all-encompassing stillness, Nolting provides a unique aesthetic view of how a society has been waiting for an imagined normality to return, a normality which is shaken to its core.

On Friday, November 20th, Ingmar Nolting’s Covid-19 series is presented online at the German American Conference. Beginning with a virtual gallery walk, Nolting’s images will inspire a transatlantic conversation on the aesthetics of this pandemic and the role of art in times of a global crisis.

At 12 pm (EST) on November 20th, the event will start with the display of single outstanding images of Nolting’s photographic series in separate breakout rooms which participants can enter via the main Zoom session. For an hour, visitors can move individually and flexibly through the (5-7) breakout rooms, interacting with the images on an individual, intimate level. Visitors are kindly invited to bring along their favorite tea or happy hour drink.

At 1 pm, we will proceed with the panel discussion between Jordan Jones and Ingmar Nolting. First, the photographer will give a relatively short introductory talk (10-15 minutes) followed by a discussion on the aesthetics and politics of the images with Jordan Jones. After approximately 20 minutes of discussion, the audience will be invited to participate via a Q&A using the Zoom chat function.

For more information click [here]!  

PARTNERS

German American Conference

Wunderbar Together

RSVP HERE

FOLLOW ALONG

FUNDED BY
implemented by